Friday, July 12, 2024


The Coalition is comprised of Board Members and Staff Members.  The Executive Committee is formed from the Officers, Board, and Staff Members.  The Coalition meets 3 times per year, generally in January, May, and September.

Executive Committee

Dr. Sharon Emerson-StonnellPresidentemersonstonnellss@longwood.eduLongwood University
Dr. Elizabeth EdmondsonVP for Statewide Professional Developmentewedmondson@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
Dr. Debbie Neely-FisherVP for Community Engagementdneely-fisher@reynolds.eduJ. Sergeant Reynolds
Mr. Henry R. Pollard, Williams Mullens
Ms. Diane TomlinsonCorresponding Secretarydtomlinso@verizon.netRussell County Public Schools
Dr. David CarothersTreasurercarothdc@jmu.eduJames Madison University



Board & Staff Members

Both board and staff members conduct the work of the Coalition.  Board members agreed to serve a three-year term, with an option to renew the term.  Staff members are additional invited representatives that serve no given term and do not have voting privileges.

Dr. Margie Mason Staff Membermmmaso@wm.eduCollege of William & Mary
Dr. Meredith KierStaff Membermwkier@wm.eduCollege of William & Mary
Dr. George Rublein Staff Membergtrubl@math.wm.eduCollege of William and Mary
Dr. Courtney BakerBoard Membercbaker@gmu.eduGeorge Mason University
Dr. Padmanabhan Seshaiyer Board Memberpseshaiy@gmu.eduGeorge Mason University
Dr. Michael WolyniakBoard Membermwolyniak@hsc.eduHampden-Sydney College
Mr. Eric RhoadesStaff Memberrhoadesem@gmail.comHenrico County Public Schools (retired)
Dr. Deborah Neely-Fisher Staff J. Sergeant Reynolds Community College
Dr. Angela WebbStaff Memberwebbaw@imueduJames Madison University
Dr. David Carothers Board Membercarothdc@jmu.eduJames Madison University
Dr. Eric Pyle Board Memberpyleej@jmu.eduJames Madison University
Dr. Robbie HigdonStaff MemberhigdonrI@jmu.eduJames Madison University
Dr. Sharon Emerson-Stonnell Board Memberemersonstonnellss@longwood.eduLongwood University
Dr. Paula Leach Board Memberpaula@ittip.orgLongwood University, Institute for Teaching through Technology and Innovative Practices (ITTIP)
Dr. Julia Cothron Board Membercothron9293@comcast.netMathScience Innovation Center (Retired)
Dr. Linda Vahala Board Memberlvahala@odu.eduOld Dominion University
Ms. Tammy Stone Staff County Public Schools
Ms. Diane Tomlinson Board Memberdtomlinso@verizon.netRussell County Public Schools (Retired)
Dr. Edward Murphy Staff Memberemm8x@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Dr. Jennifer MaengBoard Memberjlc7d@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Dr. Jessica WhitakerStaff Memberjew9t@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Mr. Tom FitzpatrickBoard Memberfitzpatrick@rcps.infoVirginia Association of Science Teachers
Dr. Aimee Ellington Board Memberajellington@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
Dr. Elizabeth EdmondsonBoard Virginia Commonwealth University
Dr. Bill Haver Staff Memberwhaver@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University (Retired)
Dr. Dan Lewis Board Memberdlewis@vccs.eduVirginia Community College System
Mr. Ian Shenk Board Memberishenk@hcps.usVirginia Council for Teachers of Mathematics Rep; Hanover County Public Schools
Dr. Debbie Crawford Board Membercrawford@fcpsk12.netVirginia Council of Math Supervision (VCMS) Rep; Frederick County Schools
Ms. Julia RenbergBoard Memberrenbergj@pwcs.eduVirginia Science Education Leadership Association
Dr. Betti KreyeBoard Memberbkreye@vt.eduVirginia Tech
Dr. Brenda BrandBoard Memberbbrand@vt.esuVirginia Tech
Mr. Speaker Pollard Board Memberhpollard@williamsmullen.comWilliams Mullen